Hitting with Top Spin

Argentine David Nalbandian - Winner of the Medibank International 2009

Greetings from the Medibank International Tennis Competition!

This year I made the decision to volunteer at the famous Australian Open Event held at Olympic Park in Sydney as a way to do what I love, about a sport I love. For eight years I’ve worked on my ‘flawless’ technique on the court and so when the opportunity to mingle amongst some of the top players in the world came knocking, I bloody well took it! Yet, while I may not be hitting any tennis balls, I have a wonderful job as a media centre volunteer where I can participate in press conferences, interviews and associate closely with some of Australia’s (and the world’s) best media. As a communications graduate it’s important to get involved and to improve, and what better way to do that than by learning from mentors and experienced journalists. After just one day on the job, I felt like I was hitting with the perfect top spin – only, the journalistic kind!

My advice would be that all journalists get amongst the wonderful events occuring across Australia. In just two days I’ve had the pleasure of meeting famous players Serena Williams, Lleyton Hewitt, Svetlana Kuznetsova, Dinara Safina and Caroline Wozniacki. I’m sure soon, there’ll be more to come!

By participating in the Olympics I also had the rare, and esteemed pleasure of meeting FIFA World Player of the Year, Lionel Messi as well as Diego Maradona, Juan Roman Riquelme, Ronaldinho and Sergio Aguero.

I’ve also had the pleasure of speaking to some fantastic musicians such as Porcupine Tree’s Steve Wilson and working on site at live concerts such as Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Dream Theater, Opeth and many more!

Hopefully my music list continues to grow exponentially!

So my advice, and the purpose of my note is to tell my young journalistic counterparts to get involved. It’s worth everything in the end, even when cash itself isn’t involved.

LP

\m/

Leave a Reply

