A Few Words For A Lost Inspiration

Michael Jackson performing on his Dangerous World Tour
Michael Jackson performing on his Dangerous Tour

While the world floods the airwaves, the internet and even the streets with their sympathies for one of the world’s greatest performers, I feel it is imperative to share my deepest despair for the loss of my lifelong icon, Michael Jackson.

Since I was a young girl Michael has been such a huge part of my life – his music was cemented in my spirit and his individuality was an everlasting inspiration. While the notion of ‘fanaticism’ is often correlated with ideas of blind obsession, my love for Michael was genuine and his importance  in my life I came to realise with age. I looked to Michael for happiness and motivation, not just entertainment. I admired Michael’s strength inside a world that watched every aspect of his life and criticised every moment of his extistance. There was no-one that motivated me as uniquely as Michael did.

Living in Australia, I woke up at 3am to watch his memorial service and I found myself immersed in feelings of great loss. His significance in my life became painfully evident when his image and legacy were remembered and glorified by his many friends and family members. While his life was lived, undoubtedly, in eccentricity and controversy, Michael was always admirably strong. There is no reason to deny that he possessed strange qualities, but he was never fearful of what the world would criticise and terrorise him for. As Charles Dickens once said “it is important to reflect upon your present blessings – of which every man has many – not on your past misfortunes, of which all men have some”. No one knew this better than Michael Jackson himself.

Today, just over a week since his death, I mourn and I mourn with all my heart. Michael will always be so important in my life and I will never forget his impact and his ability to inspire and motivate me through his music, his performances and his honest humanity. Even as an avid heavy metal fan, I can’t deny the significance of Michael’s music and I will unashamedly announce it.  I love you Michael, may you finally rest in peace.

LP \m/

Leave a Reply

